破产

您在申请破产时不需要有律师,但是,在您申请破产时没有法律代表可能会导致不可预见的情况和您试图保护的财产的潜在损失。 即使你是一个 雇主,您的个人资产仍然可以被扣押。

许多破产律师声称能够轻松地为您申请破产保护,但无法为您提供法律建议或代表您 法院 如果确实出现问题。 一位优秀的破产律师可以帮助您准备申请,并在整个破产过程中为您提供法律建议。 在 Jezic & Moyse 律师事务所,我们是破产法专家,可以协助您完成申请破产的每一步。

我们的马里兰州破产律师了解您的财务问题对您的重要性,并将帮助您解决其提出的棘手法律问题。 我们的律师以热情地代表我们的客户进行宣传,同时对他们独特的关注点保持敏感而自豪。

什么是不同类型的破产?

一般来说,当一个人申请破产时,个人档案会在以下三章之一下进行:第 7 章、第 11 章或第 13 章。 下面,我们讨论这三章之间的不同之处,以及它们通常适用于哪些人:

  • 根据第 7 章提交 –  章节 7 是最常见的破产类型,通常被称为“直接破产”。 虽然个人构成了第 7 章破产申请的大部分,但公司和合伙企业也可以根据本章提交申请。

当您根据第 7 章提交申请时,您的资产将被清算以向债权人支付您拥有的任何无担保债务。 无担保债务是没有抵押品的债务,如个人贷款。 在您提交第 7 章破产申请后,债权人将停止所有收款尝试。 如果破产成功,您将免除您对个人债务的责任。

  • 根据第 11 章提交 – 章节 11 被称为重组破​​产。 这种类型的破产用于重组您的计划,以便在更长的时间内偿还债权人,并且通常由大型企业提出。 第 11 章可以与自愿请愿或非自愿请愿一起提交,具体取决于提交者。

自愿申请意味着企业已根据第 11 章提出申请,而非自愿申请意味着债权人已根据第 11 章提出申请,以试图让企业偿还债务。 在您提交请愿书后,您有 4 个月的时间来制定偿还债权人的计划。 但是,这可以延长至 18 个月。 您的债务偿还将根据您为每个债权人选择的类别进行优先排序。

  • 根据第 13 章提交 – 章节 13 破产也常被个人而不是公司使用。 这种类型的破产是一种在 3 到 5 年内偿还债权人的计划,将您的债务支付给受托人以支付给您的债权人。  

一旦提交了第 13 章,大多数债权人的收款就会停止。 在这 3 至 5 年结束时,所有剩余债务均已解除。 第 13 章备案的目标是保护您的资产,同时使您对债权人的付款易于管理且期限更长。

通常,当一个人申请破产时,该个人根据以下三个章节之一提交文件:第 7、11 或 13 章。

 

破产程序

当其中之一 我们的律师 在申请破产保护时,律师将逐步指导您完成整个流程。 这个过程包括:

  • 经济状况调查(发现您将申请的破产类型)
  • 披露您的资产、债务和证明文件
  • 提交破产申请
  • 与您的债权人会面

申请破产的过程可能令人生畏和困难。 有一位优秀的破产律师在您身边可以帮助您获得想要的结果,并让您安心。

为什么选择 Jezic & Moyse 作为您的破产代理人?

我们在 DMV 地区执业已超过 20 年,并为为我们的每一位客户提供最佳法律建议而自豪。 我们对破产法的各个方面都了如指掌,并且精通马里兰州的法院。 

申请破产对许多人来说是一个困难和压力很大的时期,并且 我们的律师 了解它是多么令人沮丧。 多年来,我们与大量破产客户合作,并让经常以债务骚扰个人的债权人退缩。 无论您目前的财务状况如何,我们都会随时为您提供帮助。

如果您正在考虑申请破产,您不必独自经历复杂的过程。 我们每一位敬业的破产律师都可以为您提供有关您的破产的最佳法律建议,并指导您完成一个干净的财务状况。 立即联系破产律师 讨论您的选择!

滚动到顶部

Bankruptcy

You are not required to have an attorney when filing for bankruptcy, however, not having legal representation when you file can lead to unforeseen circumstances and potential loss of property you are trying to protect. Even if you are an employer, your personal assets can still be seized.

Many bankruptcy attorneys claim to be able to file your bankruptcy hassle free, but can not offer you legal advice or represent you in the court of law if a problem does arise. A good bankruptcy lawyer can help you prepare to file, as well as give you legal advice throughout the bankruptcy process. At the Law Offices of Jezic & Moyse, we are experts in bankruptcy law, and can assist you through every step of filing for bankruptcy.

Our Maryland bankruptcy lawyers understand how important your financial matter is to you, and will help navigate you through the difficult legal issues that it presents. Our lawyers pride themselves on passionately advocating on behalf of our clients while being sensitive to their unique concerns.

What are the Different Types of Bankruptcy?

Generally, when a person files for bankruptcy, the individual files under one of three chapters: Chapters 7, 11, or 13. Below, we discuss the different differences between the three chapters, and who they generally apply to:

  • Filing under chapter 7 –  Chapter 7 is the most common type of bankruptcy, and is often referred to as “straight bankruptcy.” While individuals make up a bulk of Chapter 7 bankruptcy filings, corporations and partnerships can also file under this chapter.

When you file under Chapter 7, your assets are liquidated to pay your creditors for any unsecured debts you have. Unsecured debts are debts that do not have collateral behind them, like personal loans. After you file a petition for Chapter 7 bankruptcy,  creditors will stop all collection attempts. If the bankruptcy is a success, you will be discharged of your liability for your personal debts.

  • Filing under chapter 11 – Chapter 11 is known as a reorganization bankruptcy. This type of bankruptcy is used to reorganize your plan to pay back your creditors over a longer period of time, and is often filed by large businesses. Chapter 11 can be filed with a voluntary petition or an involuntary petition, depending on who has filed.

A voluntary petition means the business has filed for Chapter 11, while an involuntary petition means the creditor has filed for Chapter 11 in an attempt to get the business to pay back its debts.  After you have filed a petition, you have 4 months to come up with a plan to pay back your creditors. However, this can be extended to up to 18 months. Your debt repayments are prioritized based on the class you have chosen for each of your creditors.

  • Filing under chapter 13 – Chapter 13 bankruptcy is also commonly used by individuals rather than corporations. This type of bankruptcy is a plan to pay back your creditors over a span of 3-5 years, paying your debts to a trustee for disbursement to your creditors.  

Once a chapter 13 is filed, most collections from creditors are stopped. At the end of this 3-5 years, all remaining debts are discharged. The goal of a chapter 13 filing is to protect your assets, while also making your payments to your creditors manageable and over a longer period of time.

Generally, when a person files for bankruptcy, the individual files under one of three chapters: Chapters 7, 11, or 13.

 

The Bankruptcy Process

When one of our attorneys takes on a bankruptcy filing, the attorney will guide you through the entire process step by step. This process includes:

  • Means testing (discovering what type of bankruptcy you will be filing for)
  • Disclosure of your assets, debts, and supporting documents
  • Filing a petition for bankruptcy
  • Meeting with your creditors

The process of filing for bankruptcy can be intimidating and difficult. Having a good bankruptcy lawyer by your side can help you get the results you are looking for, as well as give you a sound piece of mind.

Why Choose Jezic & Moyse as your Bankruptcy Attorneys?

We have been practicing law in the DMV area for over 20 years, and pride ourselves on providing the best legal advice for each of our clients.  We are knowledgeable in all aspects of bankruptcy law, and well versed in navigating the courts in Maryland. 

Filing for bankruptcy is a difficult and stressful time for many, and our attorneys understand how frustrating it can be. We have worked with a great deal of bankruptcy clients over the years, and have backed off the creditors that often harass individuals with debt. Whatever your current financial situation is, we are here to help.

If you are considering filing for bankruptcy, you don’t have to go through the complicated process alone. Each one of our dedicated bankruptcy lawyers can provide you with the best legal advice concerning your bankruptcy, and guide you through to a clean financial slate. Contact a bankruptcy attorney today to discuss your options!

Scroll to Top