公民权利

被选为地区顶级律师之一 超级律师华盛顿人!

超级律师 刑事辩护律师

民权不公正有多种形式。 任何侵犯公民在社会和政治上享有平等权利的行为都是违法的,有罪的一方应该为自己的行为负责。 在 Jezic & Moyse, LLC 律师事务所,我们努力将侵犯公民权利的人带到 正义,和 确保他们在法庭上看到他们的一天。

常见的民权侵犯

非法搜查

如果您因交通违规而被执法人员拦下,您作为美国公民享有某些预先确定的权利。 这 第 4 修正案t 声明(释义)美国公民有权保护自己的人身和财产免受搜查和扣押。 在没有合理理由、搜查令或合理怀疑的情况下进行搜查和扣押的官员侵犯了您的公民权利。 

错误逮捕

Jezic & Moyse 律师

当一个人在没有正当理由的情况下被警方拘留时,就会发生错误逮捕(也称为虚假逮捕)。 简而言之,官员不能仅仅因为想逮捕一个人就逮捕他们。 个人必须已表明逮捕的可能原因,或必须已发出逮捕令/法庭命令。 这属于要求逮捕是“特权”的法律领域。

错误定罪

众所周知,刑事司法系统并非万无一失。 这是一个有缺陷的系统,错误很常见。 错误识别、虚假证词和其他虚假证据等因素可能导致错误的人被 被判有罪 他们没有犯。 任何人都不应该因为他们被错误地定罪的罪行而服刑,并且 我们的法律团队 有能力证明你的清白。

警察暴行/过度使用武力

警察有权使用“合理武力”进行逮捕。 对大多数警察来说,这意味着尽可能少地使用武力以顺利逮捕。 不幸的是,情况并非总是如此。 一些警官完全无视他们的训练,在逮捕期间任由他们的情绪控制。

这导致警察使用比必要更多的武力进行逮捕,并且 统计 表明这在美国是一个日益严重的问题。 与执法部门合作的个人不应受到过度使用武力的反对,不应对人员生命构成威胁的个人不应被枪杀。 任何形式的警察暴行/过度武力都侵犯了您的公民权利。

种族/性别歧视

在美国基于种族或性别歧视个人的行为侵犯了您的公民权利。 毕竟,公民权利是平等的权利。 种族/性别歧视在招聘行为、性骚扰和种族定性中很常见。

一个人不应该因种族或性别而受到区别对待,平等对待是他们的合法权利。 民权法的出台是为了保护受到这种歧视的人。

什么是第1983条?

尽管存在许多误解,但第 1983 节并不是阐明所有内容的立法 公民权 给予 美国公民. 通俗地说,第 1983 条允许公民就侵犯公民权利的行为起诉政府。 为使第 1983 条诉讼有效,被告必须“冒充”州或联邦政府行事。

这实质上意味着州/政府的代表滥用了州/政府赋予他们的权力。 当因逮捕问题而提起第 1983 条诉讼时,大多数法院会认为该警官的行为“有违法律”。 

如果您的权利可能受到侵犯,请致电马里兰州的民权律师

如果您或您认识的人成为侵犯公民权利的受害者,致电 Jezic & Moyse, LLC 律师事务所可能是获得应有正义的第一步。 我们与那些为自己挺身而出的人站在一起,并宣布他们没有获得每个美国公民应有的权利。 今天致电我们的办公室 240-292-7200,或通过留言 联系表格 在我们的网站上,以确保您的索赔得到最好的民权法律专业人士的照顾。

滚动到顶部

240.292.7200

Civil Rights Lawyers

Selected as one of area’s top lawyers in SUPERLAWYERS & the WASHINGTONIAN!

Super Lawyersmd-criminal-defsense-lawyers

Civil rights injustice comes in many different forms. Anything that infringes on the rights of a citizen to be socially and politically equal is against the law, and the guilty party should be held accountable for their actions. At The Law Offices of Jezic & Moyse, LLC, we fight to bring offenders of civil rights to justice, and ensure they see their day in court.

Common Civil Rights Violations

Illegal searches

If you are stopped by an officer of the law for a traffic violation, you certain predetermined rights as a United States citizen. The 4th amendment states (paraphrased) that US citizens have the right to be secure in their persons and belongings against search and seizure. Officers who perform a search and seizure without probable cause, a warrant, or a reasonable suspicion are in violation of your civil rights. 

Wrongful arrest

Attorneys Jezic & Moyse

Wrongful arrest (also known as false arrest) occurs when an individual is taken into police custody without justification to do so. To put it simply, an officer cannot arrest an individual just because they feel like arresting them. An individual must have shown probable cause for an arrest, or a warrant/court order must have been made. This falls under the area of law that requires an arrest to be “privileged.”

Wrongful conviction

As most know, the criminal justice system is not foolproof. It is a flawed system, and mistakes are common. Factors like misidentification, false testimonies, and other phony evidence can lead to the wrong person being convicted of a crime they did not commit. No person should ever have to serve jail time for a crime they were wrongfully convicted of, and our legal team has the skill set to prove your innocence.

Police brutality/excessive use of force

Police officers are authorized to use “reasonable force” to make an arrest. To most police officers, this means using as little amount of force as possible to make a smooth arrest. Unfortunately, that is not always the case. Some officers completely disregard their training, and let their emotions take over during an arrest.

This results in police officers using more force than necessary to make an arrest, and statistics suggest it is a growing problem in the United States. An individual who is cooperating with law enforcement should not be objected to excessive physical force, and an individual that is not a threat to officers’ lives should not be shot. Any form of police brutality/excessive force is a violation of your civil rights.

Racial/sexual discrimination

Acts that discriminate against an individual in the United States based on race or gender are a violation of your civil rights. After all, civil rights are equal rights. Racial/sexual discrimination is common with job hiring practices, sexual harassment, and racial profiling.

A person should never be treated differently based on their race or sex, and it is their legal right to be treated equally. Civil rights laws are put in place to protect the people who have been victimized by this discrimination.

What is section 1983?

Despite many misconceptions, section 1983 is not the legislation that spells out all civil rights afforded to United States citizens. Section 1983, put in layman’s terms, allows citizens to sue the government for civil rights violations. In order for a Section 1983 lawsuit to be valid, the defendant must have acted “under color of” the state or federal government.

This essentially means that a representative of the state/government has abused the authority given to them by the state/government. When a section 1983 lawsuit has been made due to an issue with an arrest, most courts will consider the officer to have acted “under color” of law. 

Call a Maryland civil right lawyer if your rights may have been violated

If you or someone you know has been a victim of a civil rights violation, calling The Law Offices of Jezic & Moyse, LLC could be the first step towards getting the justice you deserve. We stand with those who stand up for themselves, and declare that they are not being afforded the same rights as every United States citizen should. Call our office today at 240-292-7200, or leave a message through the contact form on our website to ensure your claim is under the care of the best civil rights legal professionals.

GET HELP NOW

Please use the contact form to get in touch. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Blog Posts

    Chinese (Simplified)EnglishFrenchGermanKoreanPortugueseRussianSpanish