马里兰州保释和债券审查律师

保释金代理店面
保释金机构的店面

当某人因重罪指控被捕而当时无法在地区法院审理时,该人根据宪法享有某些权利,其中之一是有权进行初步听证,以确定是否设定保释金额,或是否应根据其本人的担保释放此人。

简而言之,保释听证会代表了等待法院审理重罪案件可能需要一个月的时间,或者回家并享受相对自由直到那时之间的区别。 拥有一名精通刑事法律辩护和保释听证程序的称职律师是成功申请释放直至刑事案件审理的第一步。

保释金和保释金有什么区别?

对于普通观察者来说,“保释金”和“保证金”这两个术语是可互换的术语,它们描述了为确保被控犯有严重罪行的人在出庭前的自由而支付的款项。

这是一种谬论,对于因涉嫌重罪被捕而寻求获得自由的人来说,这两个术语之间的区别至关重要。 根据犯罪的严重程度,这个数额可能会高得令人望而却步,足以让被告无法张贴。

在这种情况下,通常由专门提供保释保证金的公司代表被告担保和邮寄保证金。 应该注意的是,这笔钱不是惩罚程序的一部分,而是一种保证该人在案件提交法庭时出庭的方式。

被告应不应该 没有出现,或违反保释协议中规定的任何条款,他们将被没收保释金或保证金并立即被拘留。 保释金是被告在法庭开庭前必须支付的钱才能从拘留所获释。

由于这一数额可能高得令人望而却步,通常可以由专门提供保释保证金的公司代表被告担保和发布保证金。 保释金额将由保释听证会决定。

保释听证会如何运作?

被告有权在被捕后 24 小时内接受法院专员的保释听证会,这是宪法保障的权利。 专员将审查案件的细节,并决定是否应允许被告保释并在法庭开庭前获得自由。

专员考虑的因素包括被告以前的犯罪记录、他们的财务资源、他们的性格和与社区的联系,当然还有案件的细节。 被告人的律师必须提出事实和证据,并为被告人的获释辩护。 他们自己的认可,或保释金额。

如果发生谋杀等最严重的指控,或者如果此人对自己、其他人、公众构成风险,或者在有重大逃亡风险的情况下,即使是最慷慨的人,保释金也可能被拒绝或定得过高保释担保人或公司。

如果准予保释,将采取以下几种形式之一,包括:

  • 现金保释 – 支付全部保释金以确保被告的自由。
  • 保释金 – 在被告提出不可退还的保释金总额的 10% 后,保释机构支付全额。
  • 物业债券 – 等于或大于保释金额的财产被用作保释金额的杠杆。

如果支付了金额,被告可能会被释放到出庭日期,但他们的释放也可能取决于精神治疗、宵禁、强制性药物和酒精测试、维持工作或旅行和/或武器限制。

当保释被拒绝时该怎么办

监狱酒吧和其他牢房
牢房

在大多数情况下,如果保释被拒绝或高得令人望而却步的保释金没有减少,那么在被拒绝一天左右的时间里,被告确实有合法权利被地区法院法官会见。 他们必须一直被拘留,直到他们被看到或直到他们能够保释。

这是一个极其冒险的举动,只能在有经验的人的建议下尝试 马里兰州刑事辩护律师.

如果保释金设置得过高,而被告请求法官重新考虑,则该请愿书也有被拒绝的风险,最有可能导致完全撤销保释金。 这是一个 好律师 发挥作用,因为他们应该能够计算向地方法院法官提出请愿成功的可能性,并建议或反对这样做。

如何获得获得保释的最佳机会

获得保释的最佳机会不仅在于获得保释,而且获得负担得起的保释还取决于优秀的刑事辩护律师的服务。 虽然保释听证会往往是一个非常直接的过程,但有利的裁决在很大程度上取决于准备工作和优质法律代表的专业知识。

保释听证会可以从字面上确定被指控犯有重罪的人是否在接下来的几个月或长达一年或更长时间等待他们的案件接受审判。

当您的自由受到威胁时,首先致电 Jezic 和 Moyse

被告有权选择自己选择的律师为他们辩护并倡导他们的自由。 当您的自由岌岌可危时,您希望获得 Jezic & Moyse 律师事务所的经验和广泛的法律知识。

Jezic & Moyse 能为您做什么的一个例子

我们的一位律师于 11 年 13 月 2020 日处理了债券审查。 该案的细节称,在对一间公寓进行合法搜查后,发现了 100,000 万美元现金和两公斤可卡因,一名嫌疑人被拘留。 Andres 是 Jezic 和 Moyse 的优秀刑事辩护律师之一,他获得了 5,000 美元的无担保债券,客户在同一天获释。

立即致电 Jezic & Moyse,让我们的法律团队保护您的自由!

滚动到顶部

Judges Gavel

Bail & Bond Review

When someone has been arrested on felony charges that cannot be heard in District Court at that time, that person has certain rights under the constitution, one of which is the right to a preliminary hearing that determines if there will be a bail amount set, or whether the person should be released on their own recognizance.

Simply put, a bail hearing represents the difference between what may be a months long wait for that felony case to be heard by the court, or going home and enjoying relative freedom until that time. Having a competent attorney who is well versed in criminal legal defense and the bail hearing process is the first step in successfully petitioning for release until the criminal case is heard.

What Is the Difference Between Bail and Bond?

To the common observer, the terms “bail” and “bond” are interchangeable terms that describe the monies paid to secure the freedom of a person accused of a serious crime until their day in court.

This is a fallacy, and the difference between the two terms is a crucial one for someone who is seeking to gain their freedom after being arrested on suspicion of a felony crime. Depending on the seriousness of the offense, this amount may be prohibitively high, high enough that the defendant cannot post it.

In this event, a bond may be secured and posted on behalf of the defendant, usually by a company who specializes in providing bail bonds. It should be noted that this money is not part of the punitive process, but rather a way of guaranteeing the person will appear when their case comes before the court.

Should the defendant fail to appear, or violate any of the terms laid out in the bail agreement, they would then forfeit the bail or bond and be taken into custody immediately. Bail is the money a defendant must pay to be released from custody until their court date.

Since this amount can be prohibitively high, a bond may be secured and posted on behalf of the defendant, usually by a company who specializes in providing bail bonds. The amount of the bail will be determined by a bail hearing.

How Does a Bail Hearing Work?

A defendant has the constitutionally guaranteed right to be seen for a bail hearing by a court commissioner within 24 hours of their arrest. The commissioner will examine the particulars of the case, and decide whether the accused should be permitted to post bail and be free until their court date.

Among the factors considered by the commissioner will be the previous criminal record of the defendant, their financial resources, their character and connection to the community, and of course, the details of the case. The defendant’s lawyer must present facts and evidence, and argue the case for the accused being released on their own recognizance, or for a bail amount.

In the event of the most serious accusations like murder, or if the person represents a risk to themselves, someone else, the general public or in the case of a significant flight risk, bail can be denied or set too high for even the most generous of bail bondsmen or companies.

In the event that bail is granted, it will take one of several forms, including:

  • Cash bail - where the entirety of the bail amount is paid to secure the freedom of the defendant.
  • Surety Bail – where a bond agency pays the full amount after the defendant puts up a nonrefundable 10% of the total bail amount.
  • Property Bonds – where a property of equal or greater value than the bail amount is leveraged against the bail amount.

If the monetary amount has been met, the defendant may be released until their court date, but their release may also be contingent on conditions such as a psychiatric treatment, curfew, mandatory drug and alcohol testing, maintaining a job, or travel and/or weapons restrictions.

What to Do When Bail Has Been Denied

Prison bars and other cells
Prison Cells

For the most part if bail has been denied or the prohibitively high amount of bail has not been reduced, a defendant does have the legal right to be seen by a District Court judge when a day or so of the denial. They must remain in custody until they are seen or until they are able to post bail.

This is an extremely risky move, and should only be attempted under counsel of an experienced Maryland criminal defense attorney.

If bail has been set prohibitively high, and the defendant petitions a judge to reconsider, the petition runs the risk of being denied as well, most likely leading to revocation of bail altogether. This is where a good lawyer comes into play, because they should be able calculate the probability of a petition to District Court Judge being successful and advise for or against doing so.

How to Have the Best Chance of Being Granted Bail

The best chance of being granted not just bail, but an affordable bail lies in the services of a good criminal defense lawyer. While bail hearings tend to be a very direct process, a favorable ruling depends for the most part, on preparation, and the expertise of quality legal representation.

A bail hearing can literally determine whether a person accused of a felony spends the next few months or as much as a year or more waiting for their case to come to trial.

Call Jezic & Moyse First When Your Freedom is At Stake

It is the right of a defendant to have a lawyer of their choosing to defend them and to advocate for their freedom. When your freedom is on the line, you want the experience and expansive legal knowledge of Jezic & Moyse, Attorneys at Law in your corner.

An Example of What Jezic & Moyse Can Do for You

One of our lawyers handled a bond review on 11/13/2020. The details of the case allege that after a legal search of an apartment turned up $100,000 in cash and two kilos of cocaine, a suspect was taken into custody. Andres, one of the fine criminal defense attorneys with Jezic and Moyse was able to secure a $5,000 unsecured bond, and the client was released the same day.

Call Jezic & Moyse today, and let our legal team secure your freedom today!

Selected as one of area's top lawyers in SUPERLAWYERS &
The WASHINGTONIAN!

Testimonials


    Email us

    inquiries@jezicfirm.com

    How we can help

    At Jezic & Moyse, LLC, our Maryland bail and bond review lawyers will help you get the best possible outcome if you are charged with an offense that could land you in jail or prison.

    Call us 8am - Midnight Weekdays
    9 am to 9 pm Weekends

    Or fill out the form to receive a free and confidential consultation.

    Scroll to Top