马里兰州家庭律师

虐待儿童

我们在 Jezic & Moyse, LLC 经验丰富的马里兰州刑事辩护律师将积极寻找每一个可以想象的辩护途径,以击败您的刑事指控。

太多的刑事辩护律师在听到对其客户的供词或其他有罪证据时过早地开始谈论辩诉交易。 我们的马里兰州刑事辩护团队在最后一点积极的防御策略用尽之前不会屈服。

如果对您的指控有不寻常的技术辩护,我们的马里兰州刑事辩护律师会找到它。 如果有一种创造性的方法可以让您避免在特定情况下受到正常惩罚,我们会找到它。(见客户评价).

我们的律师每天都在马里兰州、华盛顿特区和弗吉尼亚州的法庭上,为被告辩护,并在每个案件中争取最好的结果。

马里兰州代码 5-705.1, 虐待儿童是指对儿童的身体或精神造成伤害,伤害儿童的健康和/或健康,或存在危害儿童健康/健康的风险。 该守则指出,伤害可能由以下原因造成:

  • 家长
  • 监护人
  • 一位家庭成员
  • 家庭成员
  • 权威人物,立足岗位

虐待儿童不仅包括身心伤害,还源于对儿童的性虐待。 性虐待被定义为任何具有性性质的身体接触。 这包括不雅暴露、儿童美容和其他性行为。 

虐待儿童罪

各种各样的犯罪都属于虐待儿童的范畴,其情节、严重程度和处罚各不相同。 构成虐待儿童的一些常见犯罪可能包括: 

  • 威胁 - 在某些州,对儿童的口头威胁可被视为虐待儿童。 反复折磨或骚扰儿童属于情感虐待,马里兰州法规 5-705 对此进行了涵盖。 
  • 突击 - 对儿童的身体虐待应受到法律惩罚,并根据马里兰州法律构成虐待儿童。 即使没有发生伤害,被告仍可能被指控虐待儿童。 
  • 性虐待罪 - 性犯罪 对儿童属于虐待儿童,但也会因对未成年人的性犯罪而受到重罚。 
  • 忽略 - 忽视儿童被定义为没有充分满足儿童的基本需求,例如衣服、住所、食物等。 这还包括教育、情感和安全需求。
  • 濒危 - 儿童危害被定义为由于您的行为直接导致儿童处于迫在眉睫的危险之中。 即使该行为不是故意的,您仍可能被指控危害儿童。 

如果您在马里兰州被指控犯有虐待儿童罪,最好咨询虐待儿童律师。 一位经验丰富的虐待儿童律师可以在审判过程中为您提供帮助,并调查您案件的细节以确定最佳辩护。 

虐待儿童罪的处罚

虐待儿童的具体处罚将在很大程度上取决于您被指控的指控,并且在监禁时间和金钱处罚方面差异很大。 这些罪行的例子包括: 

一级虐待儿童

一级虐待儿童是一项重罪指控,发生在儿童被父母、监护人或对儿童的权威人士虐待时。 这种虐待必须被确定为是对儿童的残忍/不人道待遇(或恶意攻击),导致儿童严重身体伤害,并表明对儿童的健康或福利构成威胁。 

“严重身体伤害”一词是指身体伤害,如脑外伤、极度营养不良或任何其他对儿童生命造成重大风险的身体伤害。 对一级虐待儿童的处罚可能包括巨额罚款、 失去父母权利,最高可判处 30 年监禁。 

二级虐待儿童 

二级虐待儿童是一项重罪指控,发生在儿童被父母、监护人或对儿童的权威人士虐待时,所造成的伤害不会危及生命。 对二级虐待儿童的处罚可能会导致巨额罚款、丧失父母权利以及最高 15 年的监禁。

对儿童的性虐待 

在马里兰州,对儿童的性虐待是一项重罪指控,涵盖由父母、监护人或权威人士对未成年人实施的范围广泛的性行为。 对性虐待犯罪的处罚可能包括巨额罚款、丧失父母权利、终身在国家性犯罪者登记处,以及最高 25 年的监禁。 

忽视儿童 

儿童忽视是一种轻罪指控,发生在父母、监护人或权威人士忽视儿童身体上的精神或情感需求时。 疏忽行为不一定是故意的,马里兰州的法律可处以罚款,包括最高 5,000 美元的罚款、丧失父母权利以及最高五年的监禁。 

在马里兰州聘请虐待儿童律师

如果您在马里兰州面临虐待儿童指控,您应该认真对待这些指控并聘请虐待儿童律师。 在 Jezic & Moyse 律师事务所,我们的律师可以审查您案件的详细信息,并为您的虐待儿童案件确定最佳辩护。 一旦我们准备了最好的辩护,我们可以指导您完成审判过程,确保您的权利在此过程中得到维护。

如果您正在寻找一位在为虐待儿童案件辩护方面经验丰富的知名律师,请联系 Jezic & Moyse 律师事务所,免费对您的案件进行初步审查。

被选为地区顶级律师之一 超级律师 &
华盛顿人!

感言


    发送电子邮件

    查询@jezicfirm.com

    我们如何帮助

    我们在 Jezic & Moyse, LLC 经验丰富的马里兰州刑事辩护律师将积极寻找每一个可以想象的辩护途径,以击败您的刑事指控。

    上午 8 点至晚上 10 点致电我们

    或填写表格以接收免费且保密的咨询。

    滚动到顶部

Maryland Family Lawyer

Child Abuse

Our experienced Maryland criminal defense lawyers At Jezic & Moyse will aggressively search for every conceivable avenue of defense to beat your criminal charge. Mr. Jezic has not lost a child abuse jury trial in Montgomery County since 2008 - in at least 12 such trials.

Too many criminal defense lawyers begin talk of a plea bargain too soon when they hear of a confession or other incriminating evidence against their client. Our Maryland criminal defense team does not give in until the last bit of aggressive defense strategy is exhausted.

If there is an unusual, technical defense to your charges, our Maryland criminal defense lawyers will find it. If there is a creative way for you to avoid the normal punishment for a given set of circumstances, we will find it.(See client testimonials).

Our lawyers are in court everyday in Maryland, Washington, D.C., and Virginia, defending the accused and fighting for the best possible result in every case.

Under Maryland code 5-705.1, child abuse refers to the physical or mental injury of a child that harms the child’s health and/or wellness, or presents the risk of putting the child’s health/wellness in harm’s way. The code states that the harm can be inflicted by:

  • A parent
  • A guardian
  • A family member
  • A household member
  • An authoritative figure, based on position

Child abuse not only includes physical and mental harm, but also stems to the sexual abuse of a child. Sexual abuse is defined as any physical contact of a sexual nature. This includes indecent exposure, child grooming, and other acts of sexual nature. 

Child Abuse Crimes

A wide variety of crimes fall under the category of child abuse, with varying circumstances, severity, and penalties. Some common crimes that constitute as child abuse may include: 

  • Threats - In certain states, verbal threats against a child can be considered child abuse. Repeated tormenting or harassment of a child falls under emotional abuse, which is covered under Maryland code 5-705. 
  • Assault - The physical abuse of a child is punishable by law, and constitutes as child abuse under Maryland law. Even if no injury occurs, a defendant can still be charged with child abuse. 
  • Sexual abuse crimes - Sex crimes against a child fall under child abuse, but also carry heavy penalties associated with sex crimes against a minor. 
  • Neglect - Child neglect is defined as not adequately providing a child basic needs, such as clothing, shelter, food ect. This also includes educational, emotional, and safety needs.
  • Endangerment - Child endangerment is defined as putting a child in imminent danger as a direct result of your actions. Even if the act was not intentional, you can still be charged with child endangerment. 

If you are accused of a child abuse crime in Maryland, it is always best to seek the counsel of a child abuse lawyer. An experienced child abuse lawyer can help you during the trial process, and look into the details of your case to determine the best defense. 

Penalties for Child Abuse Crimes

Specific penalties for child abuse will heavily depend on the charges you are accused of, and vary greatly in both jail time and monetary penalties. Examples of these crimes include: 

First Degree Child Abuse

First degree child abuse is a felony charge that occurs when a child is abused by a parent, guardian, or authorotative figure over the child. This abuse must have been determined to be cruel/inhumane treatment of the child (or a malicious attack)  that results in serious physical injury to the child, and demonstrates a threat to the child’s health or welfare. 

The term “serious physical harm” refers to physical injuries like brain trauma, extreme malnutrition, or any other physical harm that causes a substantial risk to the child’s life. The penalties for first degree child abuse can include hefty fines, loss of parental rights, and a maximum sentence of up to 30 years in prison. 

Second Degree Child Abuse 

Second degree child abuse is a felony charge that occurs when a child is abused by a parent, guardian, or authoritative figure over the child, and the injuries inflicted are not life threatening. The penalty for second degree child abuse can result in hefty fines, loss of parental rights, and a maximum sentence of up to 15 years in prison.

Sexual Abuse of a Child 

Sexual abuse of a child is a felony charge in the state of Maryland, and covers a wide range of sexual acts against a minor when the act is committed by a parent, guardian, or authoritative figure. The penalties for sex abuse crimes can include hefty fines, loss of parental rights, a lifetime on the national sex offender registry, and a maximum jail sentence of up to 25 years in prison. 

Child Neglect 

Child neglect is a misdemeanor charge that occurs when a parent, guardian, or authoritative figure neglects a child’s physical mental, or emotional needs. The act of neglect does not have to be intentional, and is punishable by law in the state of Maryland with penalties including fines of up to $5,000, loss of parental rights, and a maximum sentence of up to five years in prison. 

Hiring a Child Abuse Lawyer in Maryland

If you are facing child abuse charges in the state of Maryland, you should take these accusations seriously and hire a child abuse lawyer. At the Law Offices of Jezic & Moyse, our attorneys can review the details of your case and determine the best possible defense for your child abuse case. Once we have prepared the best defense possible, we can guide you through the trial process, ensuring your rights are maintained along the way.

If you are looking for a reputable attorney that is experienced with defending child abuse cases, contact the Law Offices of Jezic & Moyse for a free initial review of your case.

Selected as one of area's top lawyers in SUPERLAWYERS &
The WASHINGTONIAN!

Testimonials


    Email us

    inquiries@jezicfirm.com

    How we can help

    Our experienced Maryland criminal defense lawyers At Jezic & Moyse, LLC, will aggressively search for every conceivable avenue of defense to beat your criminal charge.

    Call us 8 am - Midnight Weekdays
    9 am to 9 pm Weekends

    Or fill out the form to receive a free and confidential consultation.

    Scroll to Top