Anwalt für Einwanderungsfragen
Himedes V. Chicas

PARTNER

Einwanderungsanwalt und Partner, Himedes V. Chicas ist leitende Anwältin und Leiterin der Einwanderungsabteilung der Anwaltskanzlei Jezic & Moyse, LLC. Himedes ist der ehemalige Vorsitzende der Abteilung für Einwanderungsrecht der Anwaltskammer des Staates Maryland und stellvertretender Vorsitzender der American Immigration Lawyers Association, DC Chapter Liaison Committee to the Immigration and Customs Enforcement Baltimore Field Office. Herr Chicas hat fast 100 Prozent der begeisterten Bewertungen von Kunden erhalten.

Rechtsanwalt Himedes V. Chicas

Himedes fokussiert seine einwanderungsrechtliche Praxis auf die Schnittstelle von Straf- und Einwanderungsrecht, nämlich die einwanderungsrechtlichen Folgen strafrechtlicher Verurteilungen für Nichtstaatsangehörige. Himedes berät Mandanten und deren Strafverteidiger in diesen Angelegenheiten, einschließlich der Ausarbeitung einwanderungsfreundlicher Plädoyers, der Erstellung von vorgerichtlichen Einwanderungsberatungsgutachten und der Tätigkeit als Sachverständiger in Nachverurteilungssachen vor Strafgerichten. Zuletzt wurde Himedes Berater des Office of the Federal Public Defender for the District of Maryland in einwanderungsbezogenen Angelegenheiten, die sich auf die Strafverfahren ihrer Mandanten auswirken.

Himedes vertritt auch direkt Mandanten, die mit Abschiebungsverfahren vor dem Executive Office for Immigration Review konfrontiert sind, indem sie die Freilassung auf Kaution beantragen, die Abschiebung anfechten und/oder verschiedene Formen der Abschiebung vor den Einwanderungsgerichten beantragen. Darüber hinaus vertritt er Mandanten in Verwaltungsbeschwerden vor dem Board of Immigration Appeals sowie in Revisionsanträgen vor dem US Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit. Himedes hat kürzlich einen bedeutenden Sieg beim US-Berufungsgericht für den vierten Bezirk mitberaten, der zu einem Präzedenzfall des Gerichts bezüglich der ordnungsgemäßen Anwendung des kategorischen Ansatzes bei einer staatsstrafrechtlichen Verurteilung führte. Dieser Fall ist Larios-Reyes gegen Lynch, 843 F.3d 146 (4. Cir. 2016 .)), zert. verweigert Untername. Sitzungen gegen Larios-Reyes, 17-58, 2017 WL 2972640 (USA, 16. Oktober 2017).

Himedes hat auf zahlreichen Konferenzen, Symposien und Schulungen Vorträgen gehalten und Vorträge vor Praktikern im Einwanderungsrecht gehalten – darunter private Strafverteidiger, Pflichtverteidiger, Staatsanwälte und Staatsgerichtsrichter.

Himedes engagiert sich auch ehrenamtlich und stellt zur Verfügung Pro-Bono- Vertretung und Beratung bedürftiger Klienten durch die Capital Area Immigrants Rights Coalition, das Tahirih Justice Center, die Francis King Carey School of Law Immigration Clinic der University of Maryland und die World Relief Organization.

„Ich wurde zuvor von zwei Anwälten für Einwanderungsfragen abgelehnt, die mir keine Hoffnung gaben, meinen Fall zu gewinnen, und mir sagten, ich solle mein Geld nicht verschwenden. Ich war jedoch entschlossen, einen Anwalt zu finden, der ein Risiko für meine Familie und mich eingehen würde. Glücklicherweise, Ich wurde an Rechtsanwalt Himedes Chicas verwiesen, der sich bereit erklärte, meinen komplexen Fall zu übernehmen. Nachdem er unermüdlich gearbeitet hatte, gewann er den Fall. Ich wusste, dass ich die richtige Person für den Job ausgewählt hatte, als sogar der Einwanderungsrichter seine sorgfältige professionelle Arbeit bei der Präsentation des Falls lobte bei der Anhörung. Ich kann bestätigen, dass er sehr sachkundig, professionell und freundlich ist. Er beantwortete alle meine E-Mails und beantwortete alle meine Fragen während des gesamten Prozesses." -Zulma Salmeron

„Ich empfehle Himedes Chicas, Esq. jedem, der eine Vertretung für eine Abschiebungsverteidigung sucht, sehr, insbesondere bei schwierigen Tatsachen in seinem Fall, wie strafrechtliche Verurteilungen in Abschiebungen, weil er den Einwanderungs- und Aufhebungsprozess der Abschiebung sehr gut navigiert. Er hat den meines Mannes gewonnen Entfernungsfall, der Tatsachen aufwies, die andere Anwälte dazu veranlassten, uns aus ihrer Kanzlei zu schicken und uns zu sagen: "Keine Chance, viel Glück". Sehr professionell, gewissenhaft, höflich und zugänglich. Er ist der Goldstandard." -Stephanie Guevara

„Ich bin Strafverteidiger und praktiziere Strafrecht seit über 34 Jahren mit meiner eigenen Kanzlei. Als Anwalt habe ich unzählige Mandanten mit Einwanderungsproblemen an Herrn Himedes Chicas Esq. verwiesen, der auf dieses Rechtsgebiet spezialisiert ist. Ich habe ihn über viele Jahre auch in unzähligen anderen Fällen konsultiert, in denen meine Strafverteidiger ernsthafte Einwanderungsprobleme haben, die stark von ihren Strafsachen betroffen sind. Ohne Frage ist er mein Experte Nummer eins für Einwanderungsrecht. Er bietet verbindlich recherchierte Memoranden zu Immigrationsfolgen, fachkundige Beratung per E-Mail und Telefon, und er ist reaktionsschnell, hochkompetent, fürsorglich, sehr angenehm, hat angemessene Gebühren und ist ein vollendeter Fachmann. Meine Ansichten werden weitgehend von anderen Anwälten, Staatsanwälten und Richtern geteilt, die seine Arbeit kennen, sowie von unzähligen meiner Klienten. Egal, ob Sie ein Anwalt sind, wie ich es bin, oder jemand, der einen hervorragenden Anwalt für Einwanderungsfragen für alle möglichen Einwanderungsfragen benötigt, Herr Himedes Chicas wird von mir sehr empfohlen." -James N. Papirmeister, Esq.

„Himedes Chicas ist ohne Zweifel unser Anwalt für Einwanderungsfragen. Er hat Fälle für ein paar Verwandte gewonnen und enttäuscht NIE. Sehr höflicher, reaktionsschneller und sachkundiger Anwalt.” -Vanessa Pérez

„Mein Anwalt Chicas ist außergewöhnlich gut mit seiner Beratung zum Einwanderungsrecht, der Bearbeitung und Vertretung meines Falls bei USCIS. Er ist sehr gut, wenn er meinen Fall weiterverfolgt und den Fortschritt aktualisiert. Ich möchte Ihnen, Rechtsanwalt Chicas, und seinem Team wirklich für die Arbeit danken und die Bearbeitung meines Falls. Ich kann ihn nur wärmstens empfehlen. Ich danke Ihnen für Ihren Service und dafür, dass Sie über die Pflichterfüllung hinausgegangen sind." - Rebka Lemma

Himedes ist Absolvent der University of Scranton. Er erwarb seinen Abschluss als Juris Doctor an der University of Maryland School of Law, wo er als studentischer Anwalt in der Immigration Clinic der Law School bedürftige Klienten vertrat. Er war auch als Executive Articles Editor für das Maryland Journal of International Law, als Asper Fellow für die Honourable Althea M. Handy, Circuit Court für Baltimore City und als gesetzgebender Anwalt für Senator Ben Cardin im US-Senatsausschuss für Justiz tätig .

Himedes ist Mitglied der staatlichen Anwaltskammer von Maryland und als Anwalt beim US District Court for Maryland und beim US Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit zugelassen.

Darüber hinaus vertritt Himedes Klienten, die vor dem Department of Homeland Security familienbasierte und humanitäre Leistungen beantragen.

Wählen Sie Präsentationen, Engagements und Schulungen

  • Fakultät/Moderatorin, Prince George's County, Maryland Bar Association, Alan Goldstein Annual Memorial Lecture, Beratungspflicht von Strafverteidigern für nichtstaatsangehörige Mandanten Client (März 2014)
  • Fakultät/Moderator, Maryland State Bar Association, Einwanderungsabteilung, CLE-Frühjahrskonferenz, Das Memo vom 21. November 2014 zu den Prioritäten der DHS-Durchsetzung: Lebendig und wohlauf in Maryland und im ganzen Land (Mai 2015)
  • Fakultät/Moderator, Maryland Office of the Public Defender, Einwanderungsprogramm, The Immigrant and Criminal Defense Institute, Befreiung von der Entfernung: Stornierung, 212(h) (September 2015)
  • Fakultät/Moderatorin, District of Columbia Bar, Weiterbildungsprogramm für Rechtswissenschaften, Immigration Practice Law Clinic: Prozessführung und Anwaltschaft vor dem Executive Office for Immigration Review (Oktober 2015)
  • Fakultät/Moderatorin, American Immigration Lawyers Association, Washington DC Chapter, Herbstkonferenz 2015, Durchsetzungsprioritäten und staatsanwaltschaftliches Ermessen: Konfrontation mit diesen Gegenkräften, (November 2015)
  • Moderator, University of Baltimore School of Law, Immigration Law Association, Crim-Imm-Symposium: Fallstricke bei der Vertretung von Nichtstaatsbürgern in Straf- und Einwanderungsverfahren vermeiden(April 2016)
  • Fakultät/Moderator, Büro des Staatsanwalts für Montgomery County, Maryland, SAO Training, Grundlagen des Einwanderungsrechts (Mai 2016)
  • Fakultät/Moderator, Maryland State Bar Association, Jahreskonferenz 2016/Gemeinsame Ben Bar Konferenz, Einwanderungsfolgen strafrechtlicher Verurteilungen Grundlagen (Juni 2016)
  • Fakultät/Moderatorin, District of Columbia Bar, Weiterbildungsprogramm für Rechtswissenschaften, Serie zu Einwanderungsstreitigkeiten, (Juni 2016)
  • Fakultät/Moderatorin, District of Columbia Bar, Weiterbildungsprogramm für Rechtswissenschaften, Straf- und Einwanderungsrecht: Einwanderungsfolgen krimineller Aktivitäten und Verurteilungen (Februar 2017)
  • Fakultät/Moderator, Büro des Federal Public Defender für den Distrikt Maryland, Criminal Justice Act Panel Training Program, Vertretung von Einwanderern in der Trump-Ära (Mai 2017)
  • Fakultät/Moderator, Maryland State Bar Association, Jahreskonferenz 2017, Einwanderungsfolgen strafrechtlicher Verurteilungen in der neuen Ära der Exekutivverordnungen (Juni 2017)
  • Fakultät/Moderatorin, District of Columbia Bar, Weiterbildungsprogramm für Rechtswissenschaften, Immigration Law Clinic: Prozessführung und Anwaltschaft vor dem Executive Office for Immigration Review (August 2017)
  • Moderator, Howard County Bar Association, Präsentation zum Mittagessen, Einwanderungspraxis in der Trump-Ära (September 2017)
  • Fakultät/Moderatorin, American Immigration Lawyers Association, Washington DC Chapter, Herbstkonferenz 2017, Jeder ist ein ICE-Ziel, (November 2017)

Repräsentative Präzedenzfälle

  • Larios-Reyes gegen Lynch, 843 F.3d 146 (4. Cir. 2016 .)), zert. verweigert Untername. Sitzungen gegen Larios-Reyes, 17-58, 2017 WL 2972640 (USA 16) (Co-Anwalt des Petenten)
  • Angelegenheit von DMCP-, 26 I&N Dez. 644 (BIA 2015) (Anwalt des Beklagten)

Berufsverbände und Mitgliedschaften

  • American Immigration Lawyers Association („AILA“), Mitglied (2010-heute)
  • AILA, Washington DC Chapter, Baltimore – Verbindungsausschuss des US-Staatsbürgerschafts- und Einwanderungsdienstes, stellvertretender Vorsitzender (2012-2014)
  • AILA, Washington DC Chapter, Baltimore – US Immigration and Customs Enforcement Liaison Committee, Co-Vorsitz (2015-heute)
  • Rechtsanwaltskammer von Baltimore City, Mitglied (2011-2013)
  • Koalition für Immigrantenrechte im Hauptstadtgebiet, Mitglied (2015-heute)
  • Maryland Hispanic Bar Association, Mitglied (2015-heute)
  • Maryland State Bar Association („MSBA“), Mitglied (2010-heute)
  • MSBA-Sektionsrat Einwanderungsrecht, Vorsitzender (2016-heute)
  • Maryland Immigrants' Rights Coalition, Mitglied (2010-heute)
  • Montgomery County Bar Association, Mitglied (2014-heute)
  • Regionale kriminelle Einwanderungskollaboration, Teilnehmer (2014-heute)
  • University of Maryland, Francis King Carey School of Law, Immigration Clinic-World Relief, Baltimore Immigration Court Consultation Project, Volunteer Attorney (2011-heute)

AUSZEICHNUNGEN UND ANERKENNUNGEN

  • Von Super Lawyers zu einem der besten Einwanderungsanwälte in Maryland ernannt, Aufsteigender Stern, 2016-2017
  • Ernennung zu einem der besten Einwanderungsanwälte Washingtons von Washingtonian Magazine, DC Beste Anwälte: Einwanderung, 2017 & 2020

Sie können Herrn Chicas eine E-Mail senden unter hchicas@jezicfirm.com oder rufen Sie ihn im Büro unter 240-292-7200 oder auf seinem Handy unter 202-384-2647 an.

 

 

Nach oben scrollen

Immigration Attorney
Himedes V. Chicas

PARTNER

Immigration attorney and partner, Himedes V. Chicas is the lead attorney and head of the immigration department at the Law Offices of Jezic & Moyse, LLC. Himedes is the immediate-past chair of the Immigration Law Section of the Maryland State Bar Association, and the Vice Chair of the American Immigration Lawyers Association, D.C. Chapter Liaison Committee to the Immigration and Customs Enforcement Baltimore Field Office. Mr. Chicas has received nearly 100 percent of glowing reviews from clients.

Attorney Himedes V. Chicas

Himedes focuses his immigration law practice on the intersection of criminal and immigration law, namely the immigration consequences of criminal convictions on noncitizens. Himedes advises clients and their criminal defense attorneys on these matters, including crafting immigrant-friendly plea deals, providing pre-trial immigration advisory opinions, and serving as an expert witness in postconviction matters before criminal courts. Most recently, Himedes became an advisor to the Office of the Federal Public Defender for the District of Maryland on immigration-related matters impacting their client’s criminal cases.

Himedes also directly represents clients facing removal proceedings before the Executive Office for Immigration Review—requesting release on bond, challenging removal, and/or applying for various forms of relief from removal before the immigration courts. He also represents clients in administrative appeals before the Board of Immigration Appeals, as well as petitions for review before the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit. Himedes recently co-counseled a significant victory at the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, that resulted in a precedential opinion from the Court regarding the proper application of the categorical approach to a state criminal conviction. This case is Larios-Reyes v. Lynch, 843 F.3d 146 (4th Cir. 2016), cert. denied sub nom. Sessions v. Larios-Reyes, 17-58, 2017 WL 2972640 (U.S. Oct. 16, 2017).

Himedes has lectured and presented in numerous conferences, symposia, and training sessions to practitioners on immigration law—including private criminal defense attorneys, public defenders, state prosecutors, and state court judges.

Himedes also volunteers his time and provides pro bono representation and advice to indigent clients through the Capital Area Immigrants Rights Coalition, the Tahirih Justice Center, the University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law Immigration Clinic, and the World Relief Organization.

"I was previously turned down by two immigration attorneys who gave me no hope of winning my case and told me not to waste my money. However, I was determined to find an attorney who would take a chance on my family and me. Fortunately, I was referred to Attorney Himedes Chicas, who agreed to take my complex case. After working tirelessly, he won the case. I knew I had chosen the right person for the job when even the immigration judge praised his diligent professional work when presenting the case at the hearing. I can attest that he is highly knowledgeable, professional, and friendly. He answered all my emails and appeased all my questions throughout the process." -Zulma Salmeron

"I very highly recommend Himedes Chicas, Esq. to anyone seeking representation for removal defense, especially with difficult facts in their case such as criminal convictions in removal proceedings, because he navigates the immigration and cancellation of removal process extremely well.  He won my husband's removal case, which had facts that made other lawyers send us out of their office telling us, "no chance, good luck".  Very professional, diligent, courteous, and accessible.  He is the gold standard." -Stephanie Guevara

“I am a criminal defense attorney that has practiced Criminal Law for over 34 years now with my own firm.  As a lawyer, I have referred countless clients with immigration issues to Mr. Himedes Chicas Esq., who specializes in this field of law. I have also consulted with him in countless other cases over many years, where my criminal defense clients have serious immigration issues that are heavily impacted by their criminal cases. Without question, he is my number-one go-to expert on Immigration Law. He provides authoritatively researched Immigration Consequences Memoranda of Law, expert advice through email and phone, and he is responsive, highly competent, caring, very pleasant, has reasonable fees, and is a consummate professional.  My views are widely shared by other lawyers, prosecutors and Judges who know of his work, as well as countless of my clients. Whether you're an attorney, like I am, or someone who needs an excellent immigration lawyer for all sorts of immigration-related issues, Mr. Himedes Chicas is very highly recommended by me." -James N Papirmeister, Esq.

“Himedes Chicas is without a doubt our go-to immigration lawyer. He has won cases for a few relatives and NEVER disappoints. Very polite, responsive & knowledgeable lawyer.” - Vanessa Perez

"My attorney Chicas is exceptionally very good with his immigration law advice, processing and representing  my case at USCIS. He is very good when he follow up my case and updating the progress. I truly want to thank you Attorney Chicas and his team for working and handling my case. I'm highly recommend him. I thank you for your service and for going over and beyond the call of duty.” - Rebka Lemma

Himedes is a graduate of the University of Scranton. He earned his Juris Doctor degree from the University of Maryland School of Law, where he represented indigent clients as student attorney in the law school’s Immigration Clinic. He also served as the Executive Articles Editor for the Maryland Journal of International Law, an Asper Fellow for the Honorable Althea M. Handy, Circuit Court for Baltimore City, and a Legislative Law Clerk for Senator Ben Cardin in the U.S. Senate Committee on the Judiciary.

Himedes is a member of the state bar of Maryland and is admitted to practice law in the U.S. District Court for Maryland and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

In addition, Himedes represents clients applying for affirmative family based and humanitarian benefits before the Department of Homeland Security.

Select Presentations, Engagements, and Trainings

  • Faculty/Presenter, Prince George’s County, Maryland Bar Association, Alan Goldstein Annual Memorial Lecture, Duty of Criminal Defense Attorneys to Advise Noncitizen Clients (March 2014)
  • Faculty/Presenter, Maryland State Bar Association, Immigration Section, CLE Spring Conference, The November 21, 2014 DHS Enforcement Priorities Memo: Alive and Well in Maryland and throughout the Country (May 2015)
  • Faculty/Presenter, Maryland Office of the Public Defender, Immigration Program, The Immigrant and Criminal Defense Institute, Relief from Removal: Cancellation, 212(h) (September 2015)
  • Faculty/Presenter, District of Columbia Bar, Continuing Legal Education Program, Immigration Practice Law Clinic: Litigation and Advocacy before the Executive Office for Immigration Review (October 2015)
  • Faculty/Presenter, American Immigration Lawyers Association, Washington D.C. Chapter, 2015 Fall Conference, Enforcement Priorities and Prosecutorial Discretion: Confronting These Countervailing Forces, (November 2015)
  • Presenter, University of Baltimore School of Law, Immigration Law Association, Crim-Imm Symposium: Avoiding the Pitfalls in Representing Noncitizen Clients in Criminal and Immigration Proceedings(April 2016)
  • Faculty/Presenter, Office of the State’s Attorney for Montgomery County, Maryland, SAO Training, Immigration Law Fundamentals (May 2016)
  • Faculty/Presenter, Maryland State Bar Association, 2016 Annual Conference/Joint Ben Bar Conference, Immigration Consequences of Criminal Convictions Fundamentals (June 2016)
  • Faculty/Presenter, District of Columbia Bar, Continuing Legal Education Program, Immigration Litigation Series, (June 2016)
  • Faculty/Presenter, District of Columbia Bar, Continuing Legal Education Program, Criminal and Immigration Law: Immigration Consequences of Criminal Activities and Convictions (February 2017)
  • Faculty/Presenter, Office of the Federal Public Defender for the District of Maryland, Criminal Justice Act Panel Training Program, Representing Immigrants in the Trump Era (May 2017)
  • Faculty/Presenter, Maryland State Bar Association, 2017 Annual Conference, Immigration Consequences of Criminal Convictions in the New Era of Executive Orders (June 2017)
  • Faculty/Presenter, District of Columbia Bar, Continuing Legal Education Program, Immigration Law Clinic: Litigation and Advocacy before the Executive Office for Immigration Review (August 2017)
  • Presenter, Howard County Bar Association, Membership Luncheon Presentation, Immigration Practice in the Trump Era (September 2017)
  • Faculty/Presenter, American Immigration Lawyers Association, Washington D.C. Chapter, 2017 Fall Conference, Everyone’s an ICE Target, (November 2017)

Representative Precedential Cases

  • Larios-Reyes v. Lynch, 843 F.3d 146 (4th Cir. 2016), cert. denied sub nom. Sessions v. Larios-Reyes, 17-58, 2017 WL 2972640 (U.S. Oct. 16, 2017) (co-counsel for Petitioner)
  • Matter of D-M-C-P-, 26 I&N Dec. 644 (BIA 2015) (Counsel for Respondent)

Professional Associations and Memberships

  • American Immigration Lawyers Association (“AILA”), Member (2010-Present)
  • AILA, Washington D.C. Chapter, Baltimore—U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service Liaison Committee, Vice Chair (2012-2014)
  • AILA, Washington D.C. Chapter, Baltimore—U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement Liaison Committee, Co-Chair (2015-Present)
  • Bar Association of Baltimore City, Member (2011-2013)
  • Capital Area Immigrants’ Rights Coalition, Member (2015-Present)
  • Maryland Hispanic Bar Association, Member (2015-Present)
  • Maryland State Bar Association (“MSBA”), Member (2010-Present)
  • MSBA Immigration Law Section Council, Chair (2016-Present)
  • Maryland Immigrants’ Rights Coalition, Member (2010-Present)
  • Montgomery County Bar Association, Member (2014-Present)
  • Regional Criminal-Immigration Collaborative, Participant (2014-Present)
  • University of Maryland, Francis King Carey School of Law, Immigration Clinic-World Relief, Baltimore Immigration Court Consultation Project, Volunteer Attorney (2011-Present)

HONORS AND RECOGNITIONS

  • Named one of Maryland’s top immigration lawyers by Super Lawyers, Rising Star, 2016-2017
  • Named one of Washington’s top immigration lawyers by Washingtonian Magazine, D.C. Best Lawyers: Immigration, 2017 & 2020

You may email Mr. Chicas at hchicas@jezicfirm.com or call him in the office at 240-292-7200 or on his cell at 202-384-2647.

 

 

Scroll to Top