保护令

马里兰州为遭受任何形式虐待的个人提供保护。 如果您是家庭虐待或任何形式的虐待的受害者,您可以针对威胁或伤害您的人申请并获得保护令或和平令。 保护令和和平令在其他州更常被称为限制令。 您可以根据您所处的特定情况申请这些命令中的任何一个。

Jezic 先生和 Moyse 先生一直被最负盛名的出版物评为该州最优秀的律师之一—— 华盛顿杂志 以及 SuperLawyers. Jezic 先生连续六年被 SuperLawyers 杂志评为马里兰州最佳 100 名律师的非常独特的群体。 对于您的和平或保护令听证会,请拨打手机或短信,Jezic 先生 301-742-7470 或 Moyse 先生 202-413-5631。

在 Jezic & Moyse,我们处理了数百次保护与和平秩序听证会。 如果您需要我们的帮助以确保此类命令被授予然后重新签发,我们将确保向法官做出最好的陈述,而您的焦虑最少。 另一方面,如果您收到了保护令或和平令,我们将积极为您辩护,以帮助您获得清白的记录和证明。 或者,如果您选择谈判,我们将争取尽可能获得最优惠的条件。

保护令通常与家庭暴力有关

家庭暴力的受害者可以通过向地区和巡回法院提出申请来申请保护令。 以下是您有资格获得保护的条件:

  • 您目前已婚或已与受访者(伤害您的人)结婚。
  • 您在一年内与受访者一起生活了至少 90 天。
  • 你和答辩人有一个孩子。
  • 您与受访者有血缘关系、收养关系或婚姻关系。
  • 您是父母、继父母或继子女。 
  • 您在过去一年内与受访者发生过性关系。

在法庭上提交请愿书和获得保护令的整个过程通常分为三个步骤。 您将在第一步收到临时命令,然后举行听证会,答辩人和请愿人都出庭。 

一旦法院通过了保护令,被告将被要求在 12 个月内远离受害者。 这个期限也可以延长。

 

和平命令与家庭暴力以外的情况有关

任何不在家庭环境中但遭受虐待的个人都可以申请和平令。 您有资格在地方法院申请此命令。 临时命令发出后,法院将举行听证会,您将在会上面对答辩人。 一旦法院通过该命令,被告将被命令在至少 6 个月的时间内远离您。 如果您担心在此期间之后您的安全,您可以申请将和平令延长一个期限。

以下是您可以申请并获得订单的特定情况。

  • 任何对您造成严重身体伤害的行为
  • 任何让您害怕可能造成身体伤害的行为
  • 跟踪和骚扰
  • 性侵犯或强奸, 尝试也有资格
  • 没有任何法律权限的约束
  • 恶意破坏您的财产
  • 使用电话或任何其他电子通讯方式来伤害或恐吓您

如果您认为自己需要保护,最好与专业律师取得联系,解释您的情况,并就接下来要采取的步骤获得必要的建议。

如何申请保护令或和平令

在您的律师的协助下,您可以在正常工作时间向法庭提交请愿书。 提交请愿书后,您将出现在法官面前,法官会提出问题以了解您请求保护令或和平令的原因。 您将宣誓作答,并且必须提供合理的证据证明被告实施了您所描述的行为。 如果法官在排除合理怀疑的情况下确信被告实际上已经实施了这些行为,则会发出临时命令。 

一旦执法人员将通知送达被告人,保护令或和平令即生效。 通常,最终听证会安排在 XNUMX 天后。 你和答辩人都可以出示相关证据。 如果发现“大量证据”表明被告确实实施了他们被指控的行为,则法官将通过最终命令。 

保护令和和平令为申请人提供保护

一旦法官认定您有资格获得保护,就会通过保护令或和平令。 此外,法官可能会下令任何其他救济令为您提供全面保护。 在和平令的情况下,可以命令被告:

  • 停止虐待或威胁虐待你
  • 与您的家、学校、工作地点或您可能在场的任何其他地点保持距离
  • 将枪支提交给执法机构,而不是 拥有任何枪支 在保护令期间
  • 不得与您有任何合法或非法接触,即使被访者看到您,也必须转身走开
  • 不要试图以任何方式与您联系,无论是实体的还是数字的

如果您已成功获得保护令,则可以要求答辩人:

  • 为您提供共享住宅的临时使用权和所有权
  • 给你 临时监护权 未成年儿童和宠物,如果有
  • 提供临时资金支持

请放心,法院非常重视保护令和和平令。 如果被告违反该命令,他们将被指控犯有违法、可鄙的罪行和刑事指控。 也可以判处监禁。 

如果您正在考虑申请保护令,您不必独自经历复杂的过程。 我们经验丰富且敬业的保护令律师可以为您提供有关您情况的最佳法律建议,并引导您进入更安全的情况。 今天就联系我们 讨论您的选择!

滚动到顶部

240.292.7200

Maryland Protective Order Lawyer

The state of Maryland provides protection to individuals who have been going through any kind of abuse. If you’re a victim of domestic abuse or any kind of mistreatment, you can apply for and get Protective Orders or Peace Orders against the person threatening or hurting you. The Protective and Peace Orders are more commonly referred to as Restraining Orders in other states. You can petition for either of these orders depending on the particular situation you’re in.

Mr. Jezic and Mr. Moyse have consistently been rated as some of the very best lawyers in the State by the most reputable publications – Washingtonian magazine and SuperLawyers.  Mr. Jezic has been rated in the very exclusive group of the best 100 lawyers in Maryland by SuperLawyers magazine for six years in a row.  For your Peace or a Protective Order hearing, please call on the cell phone, or text, Mr. Jezic at 301-742-7470 or Mr. Moyse at 202-413-5631.

At Jezic & Moyse, we have handled hundreds of Protective and Peace Order hearings.  If you need our assistance in making sure such an Order is granted and then re-issued, we will make sure that the best presentation is made to the judge, with the least amount of anxiety for you.  On other hand, if you have been served with a Protective Order or Peace Order, we will aggressively defend you, so as to help obtain a clean record and vindication. Or if you choose to negotiate, we will fight to obtain the most favorable terms possible.

Protective Orders are Typically Related to Domestic Violence

Victims of domestic violence can apply for Protective Orders by applying at the District and Circuit Courts. Here are the conditions under which you’re eligible for protection:

  • You’re currently married or were married to the respondent (the person hurting you).
  • You lived with the respondent for at least 90 days within a one year period.
  • You have a child with the respondent.
  • You’re related to the respondent by blood, adoption, or marriage.
  • You’re a parent, step-parent, or a step-child. 
  • You’ve had a sexual relationship with the respondent within the last one year.

The entire process of filing a petition in court and getting the Protective Order is typically a three-step process. You’ll get an Interim Order at the first step after which a hearing is conducted where both, the respondent and petitioner are present in court. 

Once the courts pass the Protective Order, the accused person is asked to stay away from the victim for a period of 12 months. This term can also be extended.

 

Peace Orders are Related to Situations Other than Domestic Violence

Any individuals who are not in a domestic situation but are victims of abuse can file for Peace Orders. You’re eligible for petitioning for this order at a District Court. After an Interim Order, the courts will have a hearing where you’ll face the respondent. Once the courts pass the order, the accused will be ordered to stay away from you for a period of at least 6 months. If you fear for your safety after this period, you can petition to have the Peace Order extended for another term.

Here are the particular situations where you can apply for and get the order.

  • Any acts committed against you that resulted in serious bodily harm
  • Any acts that make you fearful of possible bodily harm
  • Stalking and harassment
  • Sexual assault or rape, attempts can also qualify
  • Restraining without having any legal authority
  • Destroying your property with malicious intent
  • Using the phone or any other electronic communication to hurt or intimidate you

If you think you need protection, it is best that you get in touch with an expert attorney, explain your situation, and get the necessary advice on the next steps to take.

How to Petition for a Protective Order or Peace Order

With the assistance of your attorney, you can file a petition in court during regular business hours. Having filed the petition, you’ll appear before a judge who will ask questions to understand the reasons why you’re requesting a Protective or Peace Order. You’ll answer under oath and must provide reasonable proof that the respondent committed the acts that you’ve described. If the judge is convinced beyond a reasonable doubt that the accused has, in fact, committed the acts, a temporary order is granted. 

The Protective or Peace Order is effective as soon as a law enforcement officer serves the notice to the accused person. Typically, a final hearing is scheduled after seven days. Both you and the respondent can present relevant evidence. The judge will pass the final order if a “preponderance of evidence” is found that the accused did, in fact, commit the acts that they are accused of. 

Protective Orders and Peace Orders Provide Protection to the Applicant

Once the judge finds that you’re eligible for protection, the Protective or Peace Order is passed. In addition, the judge may order any other relief orders to provide you complete protection. In case of a Peace Order, the accused can be ordered to:

  • Stop abusing or threatening to abuse you
  • Keep distance from your home, school, place of work, or any other location where you may be present
  • Submit firearms to a law enforcement agency and not possess any firearms for the duration of the Protective Order
  • Not have any lawful or unlawful contact with you, even if the respondent sees you, they must turn around and walk away
  • Not try to contact you in any way, physical or digital

If you have successfully obtained a Protective Order, the respondent can be asked to:

  • Give you temporary use and ownership of the shared residence
  • Give you temporary custody of the minor children and pets, if there are any
  • Provide temporary financial support

Rest assured that the courts take the Protective Order and Peace Order very seriously. In case the respondents violate the order, they will be charged with a violation, contemptible offense, and a criminal charge. A jail term can also be awarded. 

If you are considering filing for a protective order, you don’t have to go through the complicated process alone. Our experienced and dedicated protective order attorneys can provide you with the best legal advice concerning your situation, and guide you through to a safer situation. Contact us today to discuss your options!

GET HELP NOW

Please use the contact form to get in touch. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Blog Posts

    Chinese (Simplified)EnglishFrenchGermanKoreanPortugueseRussianSpanish