马里兰州纵火案律师

纵火

被告人被控纵火罪。 纵火是故意和恶意纵火焚烧住宅。 为了判定被告纵火罪,国家必须证明:

  1. 被告纵火或烧毁住宅的至少一部分; 和
  2. 纵火或燃烧 住宅 是故意和恶意的。

MD 纵火律师 住宅是一种结构,其中的某些部分已被改造为个人过夜住宿,无论在住宅着火时是否有人在场。 被告拥有全部或部分财产并不是纵火的抗辩理由。 燃烧是实际的燃烧或被火烧焦。 住宅任何部分的最轻微燃烧就足够了。 故意是指一个人故意、明知和故意地采取行动。

恶意是指某人的行为意图损害他人的财产。

纵火建筑

被告人被控纵火罪。 纵火是故意和恶意纵火或焚烧有人居住的建筑物。 为了判定被告纵火罪,国家必须证明:

  1. 被告纵火或烧毁了有人居住的建筑的至少一部分; 和
  2. 纵火或焚烧被占用的建筑物是故意和恶意的。

被占用的结构是一种结构,而不是住宅,当火灾发生或结构被烧毁时,另一个不是参与者的人在场。 被告拥有全部或部分财产并不是纵火的抗辩理由。 燃烧是实际的燃烧或被火烧焦。 被占用结构的任何部分的最轻微的燃烧就足够了,Willfully 意味着一个人是故意的、明知的和有目的的。 恶意意味着一个人的行为是为了 伤害他人 或他们的财产。

纵火 - 车辆或其他结构

被告人被控纵火罪。 纵火是故意和恶意纵火或焚烧[建筑物] [车辆] [船只] [(描述其他结构)]。 为了判定被告纵火罪,国家必须证明:

  1. 被告纵火或烧毁了[建筑物][车辆][船只][(描述其他结构)]的至少一部分; 和
  2. 纵火或焚烧[建筑物][车辆][船只][(描述其他结构)]是故意和恶意的。

燃烧是真实的 燃烧 或被火烧焦。 [建筑物] [车辆] [船只] [(描述其他结构)] 的任何部分最轻微的燃烧就足够了。 故意是指一个人有意识地、故意地和故意地行事。 恶意是指一个人的行为意图伤害他人或他们的财产。 被告拥有全部或部分财产并不是纵火的辩护理由。

纵火的潜在惩罚

纵火分为一级纵火或二级纵火,一级纵火是较严重的指控。 两种电荷之间的差异通常由燃烧的结构决定。 如果该建筑物被视为住宅(居住地),或者有人焚烧另一种类型的建筑物而有人在里面,则被视为一级纵火。 

如果一个人烧毁了一个不是住宅或有人居住的结构,则被视为二级纵火。 一级和二级纵火指控都是重罪。 威胁纵火也是违法的,这被视为轻罪。 纵火的潜在处罚取决于您收到的指控。 以下是每项收费的潜在处罚:

一级纵火: 重罪指控最高 30 年监禁,最高 50,000 美元罚款

二级纵火: 重罪,最高可判处 20 年监禁,最高 30,000 美元罚款

纵火威胁: 轻罪指控最高可判入狱 10 年

Jezic & Moyse 准备好处理您面临的任何类型的纵火指控。 如果您被指控犯有与纵火有关的指控,请随时致电我们的合格人员 刑事辩护 律师讨论您的案件。 迅速采取法律辩护行动可以保护您免于自证其罪,并为您的纵火案提供最佳辩护建议。  

如果您面临其中一项或多项指控,请务必 联系我们 一名罪犯 防御 尽快请律师,以保障您的权益。

来源:马里兰州刑事陪审团指导:4:00/4:00.1/4:00.2

滚动到顶部

Maryland Arson Attorney

Arson

The defendant is charged with the crime of arson. Arson is the willful and malicious setting fire to burning of a dwelling. In order to convict the defendant of arson, the State must prove:

  1. that the defendant set fire to or burned at least part of a dwelling; and
  2. that the setting fire to or burning of the dwelling was willful and malicious.

MD Arson Lawyer A dwelling is a structure in which some part has been adapted for overnight accommodation of an individual, regardless of whether anyone is present at the time the fire is set to the dwelling. It is not a defense to arson that the defendant owns the property, in whole or part. Burning is the actual combustion or charring by fire. The slightest burning of any of any part of the dwelling is sufficient. Willfully means a person acted intentionally, Knowingly, and purposely.

Maliciously means a person acted with the intent to harm others of their property.

Arson-Occupied structure

The defendant is charged with the crime of arson. Arson is the willful and malicious setting fire to or burning of an occupied structure. In order to convict the defendant of arson, the State must prove:

  1. that the defendant set fire to or burned at least part of an occupied structure; and
  2. that the setting fire to or burning of the occupied structure was willful and malicious.

An occupied structure is a structure, other than a dwelling, where another individual, who is not a participant, is present at the time the fire is set or the structure is burned. It is not a defense to arson that the defendant owns the property, in whole or part. Burning is the actual combustion or charring by fire. The slightest burning of any part of the occupied structure is sufficient, Willfully means a person acted intentionally, knowingly, and purposely. Maliciously means a person acted with the intent to harm others or their property.

Arson- Vehicle or other structure

The defendant is charged with crime of arson. Arson is the willful and malicious setting fire to or burning of a [building] [vehicle] [watercraft] [(describe other structure)]. In order to convict the defendant of arson, the State must prove:

  1. that the defendant set fire to or burned at least part of a [building] [vehicle] [watercraft] [(describe other structure)]; and
  2. that the setting fire to or burning of the [building] [vehicle] [watercraft] [(describe other structure)] was willful and malicious.

Burning is the actual combustion or charring by fire. The slightest burning of any part of the [building] [vehicle] [watercraft] [(describe other structure)] is sufficient. Willfully means a person acted intentionally, knowingly, and purposely. Maliciously means a person acted with the intent to harm others or their property. It is a not a defense to arson that the defendant owns the property, in whole or part.

Potential penalties for arson

Arson is classified as either first degree arson or second degree arson, with first degree arson being the more serious of the charges. The difference between the two charges is usually  determined by the structure that was burnt. If the structure was considered a dwelling (a place of residence), or a person burns another type of structure and an individual is inside, it is considered first degree arson. 

If an individual burns a structure that is not a dwelling or occupied, it is considered second degree arson. Both first and second degree arson charges are felonies. It is also illegal to make a threat of arson, which is considered a misdemeanor. The potential penalties for arson are dependent on which charge you receive. Here are the potential penalties for each charge:

First-degree arson: Felony charge with up to 30 years in prison, and fines of up to $50,000

Second-degree arson: Felony charge with up to 20 years in prison, and fines of up to $30,000

Threat of arson: Misdemeanor charge with maximum jail time of up to 10 years in prison

Jezic & Moyse are prepared to handle any type of arson charge you are facing. If you are accused of an arson-related charge, do not hesitate to call one of our qualified criminal defense lawyers to discuss your case. Taking swift legal defense action can protect you from incriminating yourself, and provide you with the best defense advice for your arson case.  

If you face one or more of these charges it is crucial to contact a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible in order to protect your rights.

Source: Maryland Criminal Patern Jury Instruction: 4:00/4:00.1/4:00.2

Scroll to Top