如何处理酒后驾车被捕?

酒后驾车被捕几乎是不可能的,这就是为什么感到困惑和焦虑是正常的。 如果您设法保持犯罪记录到那时为止,那么因任何类型的犯罪而被捕可能会越来越难以抗拒。 请记住在任何情况下都保持冷静并与警方合作。 报复和抵制可能会让你的情况变得更糟。 最好的策略是保持沉默,因为你说的任何话都可能被用来对付你。 不要认罪或对任何事情承担责任,但如果有人试图交叉质询,请要求律师。

法律为 酒后驾车 各州有所不同,但初犯者通常会得到一些宽大处理。 通常,标准的 DUI 指控会导致一个人的驾驶执照被没收、监禁一段时间和小额罚款。 被捕后,您的脑海中可能会有几个问题,因此您应该做以下几件事来处理这种情况:

要求进行化学测试

DUI 逮捕发生在警察以可疑或不尊重交通法规为由在路边拦下您之后。 他们的调查从观察身体症状开始,这可能表明您喝醉了。 如果您坚持保持清醒,他们将要求您进行一系列现场清醒测试。 但是,清醒测试的结果并不总是准确的,因此如果逮捕,您必须要求进行化学测试。 化学测试包括抽取您的血液样本以确定您体内的 BAC(血液酒精浓度)水平。 一些警察使用呼吸测试仪,这对于确定血液中的酒精百分比也不太可靠。

让你的故事直截了当

记住或记录 DUI 逮捕的所有细节,从您被拦下的时间开始到您到达警察局之后。 每次有人问你为什么被拦下、警官问了什么、你如何回答问题、执行 DUI 测试的细节以及还有谁见证了协议时,你的回答应该是一致的。 回想一下警察是否通知您您的米兰达权利或试图强迫您供认。 所有这些细节在传讯和法庭审判期间对您的案件非常有用。

聘请律师

DUI 案件可能复杂且棘手,所以不要考虑在法官或提审官面前代表自己。 选择一位在处理 DUI/DWI 案件方面具有丰富经验的律师,以确保获得有利的结果。 刑事辩护律师可以帮助驳回指控或将其减少为较轻的罪行。

安排保释

保释通常是在定罪之前远离监狱的强制性要求。 如果您无法安排一次性总付金额,您可能需要保释担保人的帮助。 担保人将支付您的保释金并收取他们的服务费用。 通过保释,担保人充当您的担保人; 然后他/她有义务确保您出席所有法庭听证会。

培养见证人

传唤朋友、家人或第三方证人,他们可以在审判期间为您作证。 任何可以为您的良好品格作证或确认您在事故发生时没有喝醉的人都会对您的案件有利。

请求 DMV 听证会

被捕后,您有大约 XNUMX 天的时间申请 DMV 听证会。 DMV 听证会决定您在被捕后是否会维持您的驾驶特权。 未在指定时间内正式请求 DMV 听证会可能会自动吊销您的驾驶执照。

滚动到顶部

Best DUI Lawyer in Maryland

How to Deal with a DUI Arrest?

A DUI arrest is almost never expected, which is why it is normal to be baffled and anxious. An arrest for any sort of crime can be increasingly overwhelming if you had managed to keep your criminal record clean up to that point. Remember to stay calm and cooperate with the police under all circumstances. Retaliating and resisting is likely to make matters worse for you. The best strategy is to remain silent because anything you say could be used against you. Do not plead guilty or take responsibility for anything, but demand a lawyer if anyone attempts cross-questioning.

The laws for DUI offenses vary from state to state, but first time offenders are usually granted some leniency. Typically, standard DUI charges lead to confiscation of a person’s driver’s license, some jail time, and a small fine. You may have several questions in your mind following an arrest, so here’s a couple of things you should do to deal with the situation:

Demand a Chemical Test

A DUI arrest happens after an officer stops you by the roadside for acting suspicious or disrespecting traffic laws. Their investigation begins by observing physical symptoms, which might suggest that you are intoxicated. If you insist that you are sober, they shall ask you to perform a series of field sobriety tests. However, the results of sobriety tests are not always accurate, so you must demand a chemical test if an arrest is issued. Chemical tests involve taking a sample of your blood to determine the BAC (blood alcohol concentration) level in your body. Some cops use a Breathalyzer, which is also not quite reliable for determining percentage of alcohol in the bloodstream.

Get your Story straight

Memorize or record all the details of the DUI arrest, starting from the time you were pulled over up to after you reached the police station. Your answers should be consistent every time someone asks you why you were stopped, what the officer asked, how you responded to the questions, detail of performed DUI testing, and who else witnessed the protocol. Recall if the police notified you of your Miranda rights or tried to force you into providing a confession. All these particulars will be extremely useful to your case during arraignment and court trial.

Hire an Attorney

DUI cases can be complicated and tricky, so do not think about representing yourself before a judge or arraignment officer. Choose an attorney who has considerable experience with handling DUI/DWI cases, so that a favorable outcome is guaranteed. A Criminal Defense Attorney can help with getting the charges dismissed or reduced to a lesser offense.

Arrange for Bail

Posting bail is usually a mandatory requirement to stay out of jail prior to conviction. You may require the help of a bail bondsman if you cannot arrange for the lump sum amount. The bondsman will pay for your bail and charge a fee for their services. By posting bail, the bondsman is acting as your guarantor; he/she is then obligated to make sure that you appear at all court hearings.

Bring up Witnesses

Call upon friends, family, or third party witnesses who can testify in your favor during trial. Anyone who can vouch for your sound character or affirm that you were not drunk at the time of the accident will be beneficial to your case.

Request a DMV hearing

Following your arrest, you have about ten days to apply for a DMV hearing. The DMV hearing decides whether or not you will sustain your driving privileges after the arrest. Failure to officially request a DMV hearing within the specified time period can automatically revoke your driver’s license.

Scroll to Top