忏悔法专家

在一个人认罪之后,其他证据相比之下就显得苍白无力。 尽管如此,即使在明确供认之后,案件的结果仍然悬而未决 - 在法庭上无法使用的供词确实会发生。 这 纯真项目,一个致力于为被错误定罪的人开脱的非营利组织,发现通过 DNA 证据推翻的案件中有 23% 包括错误的供词。

在可疑情况下获得供词的证据可以从根本上改变被告的未来。 但忏悔法很少适用。 律师和他们的客户都可以从复杂的供认法的专业知识中受益匪浅。

忏悔法的内在复杂性

没有单一的供词法,而是一系列通过在法庭上的应用而不断完善的法律。 他们共同保护美国公民免受不当获得的有罪陈述的不公正待遇。

忏悔法广泛地涵盖了几个主题。 它涵盖了收集犯罪信息的警察的适当行为。 法律规定了嫌疑人需要具备哪些信息或个人特征才能将其陈述视为自愿。 

美国公民在权利法案中得到以下承诺:

  • 第五修正案保障司法系统的正当程序和沉默权。 
  • 第六修正案包括在许多审讯中聘请律师的权利。 

当这些权利被剥夺时,任何由此产生的供词都建立在不稳定的法律基础上。 

在著名的案例中 米兰达诉亚利桑那州 1966 年,最高法院对供词权进行了大量澄清. 然而,自从那起关于警察拘留的里程碑案件以来,最高法院已经 90 多次重新审视了忏悔法的各个方面。 毫无疑问,认罪是一个复杂的法律问题。

捍卫被告的权利

供词在法律制度中占有相当大的比重。 法官和陪审团将这些陈述视为有罪的有力指标,即使该陈述后来被反驳或撤回。 因此,律师剔除无效供述的能力是为委托人辩护时必不可少的工具。

要使任何供词在法庭上有效,必须是自愿的。 这是忏悔法的关键。 当委托人缺乏有关其权利的信息或受某些情况过度影响时,他的认罪不可能是真正自愿的。 数小时的法律辩论检验了自愿的确切定义以及该概念如何适用于特定案件。

出于多种原因,可以认为供词对被告无效。 可能性范围从相对简单到模棱两可。 如果直接在逮捕警察手中的暴力行为之后招供,则立即怀疑招供。 更难确定长期、令人筋疲力尽的审讯或隐含的暴力威胁的法律地位。

许多情况会导致虚假供述。 这些 原因 包括:

  • 逃避威胁或不人道的情况
  • 回应对积极结果的承诺
  • 暂时或持续的认知无法理解情况
  • 掩盖在另一件事上的不法行为
  • 名利双收(最常与引人注目的案件有关)

无论认罪的原因是什么,辩护律师都想证明一件事:至少认罪的一个方面违反了法律规定。

虚假认罪的代价

有时,客户会告诉他的律师他的供词是被胁迫或不正确的。 在其他情况下,可能是律师发现了一份声明是不正当获得的。 

无法计算有多少人可能因为虚假或错误的供述而被判犯有他们没有犯下的罪行。 然而,免责数据为了解这些发人深省的情况提供了一个窗口。 

在可追溯到 1989 年的综合总结中, 全国免责登记处 列出了 300 多起将虚假供述确定为因素的无罪案件。 同一项研究表明,虚假供述与其他法律不利因素之间有何关联。 生命因错误定罪而受到伤害的人不成比例地年轻,而且大多数属于少数族裔。

推翻客户的供词

辩护律师会希望在免责成为唯一选择之前很久就解决其客户的案件。 当案件首次开始或在上诉期间,供词可以像其他证据一样受到质疑。 不幸的是,对供词的合法性提出质疑的正确策略似乎难以确定。 

律师可能需要为他们的案件回答的一些问题包括:

  • 我的当事人是否对他们签署的供词有足够的了解?
  • 他们的审讯时间是否越过了法律界限?
  • 我的委托人是在没有律师在场的情况下接受讯问的,还是在不适用法律援助权的情况下作出有罪陈述?
  • 与我的客户相似的供词只会在某些情况下被推翻 - 我如何确保我客户的案子结果好?

要解开适用于特定案件的供词法,咨询专家是值得的。 该第三方可以提供有关书面法律和类似案例设定的任何先例的详细知识。 因为忏悔法是如此微妙,这些例子通常是说服法官承认忏悔无效的必要条件。

来自全国知名专家的忏悔法指导

即使是具有多年刑事辩护经验的律师,在处理与虚假供述作斗争的复杂性和细微差别时,也可能会发现自己处于一种陌生的境地。 对于被告人的供词是关键的案件,请咨询著名的供词法专家 安德鲁·耶齐奇.

Jezic 先生作为本书的合著者带来了丰富的经验 马里兰州忏悔法. 他的 1600 页论文被认为是对美国忏悔法的宝贵而彻底的研究,并被律师和法院作为参考。 在其 17 个版本中,马里兰州最高和中级上诉法院引用或引用了马里兰州忏悔法 11 次。

如果您或您的客户在坦白中挣扎,Jezic 先生可在美国任何地方提供个性化咨询。 与他合作,为您的客户确定最佳选择。 当供词法生效时,Jezic 先生可以确保案件取得积极的结果。

 

滚动到顶部

Law of Confessions Expert

After an individual confesses his/her guilt, other evidence can pale in comparison. Still, even after a clear confession, the case’s outcome remains openconfessions that are unusable in court  do occur. The Innocence Project, a nonprofit dedicated to exonerating wrongfully convicted persons, found that 23% of the cases overturned through DNA evidence included an erroneous confession.

Evidence that a confession was extracted under dubious circumstances can radically change a defendant’s future. But the law of confessions is rarely simple to apply. Attorneys and their clients can both benefit greatly from specialized knowledge of the intricacies of confession laws.

The Complexity Inherent in the Law of Confessions

There is no singular law of confessions, but rather a body of laws that are constantly being refined through their application in the courts. Together, they protect American citizens from the injustice of an improperly obtained statement of guilt.

Confession law broadly covers several topics. It covers appropriate conduct for police who are gathering information about a crime. The laws dictate what information or personal attributes a suspect needs to have for their statements to be assumed voluntary. 

Citizens of the United States are promised the following in the the Bill of Rights:

  • The Fifth Amendment guarantees due process in the justice system and the right to silence. 
  • The Sixth Amendment includes the right to a lawyer during many interrogation. 

When these rights are withheld, any resulting confession lies on shaky legal ground. 

In the famous case of Miranda v. Arizona in 1966, the Supreme Court brought a lot of clarity to confession rights. Yet, since that milestone case on police custody, the Supreme Court has revisited aspects of confession law over 90 times. Confessions are, without a doubt, a legally complicated issue.

Advocating for Defendants’ Rights

A confession is given considerable weight in the legal system. Judges and juries take these statements as powerful indicators of guilt, even if the statement is later contradicted or recanted. Thus, a lawyer’s ability to throw out invalid confessions is an essential tool when advocating for clients.

For any confession to hold weight in a court of law, it must be voluntary. This is the crux of confession law. When a client lacks information about his rights or is overly influenced by certain situations, his admission of guilt can’t be truly voluntary. Untold hours of legal debate have examined the exact definition of voluntariness and how this concept applies to particular cases.

A confession could be deemed unusable against the accused for many reasons. The possibilities range from the relatively straightforward to the ambiguous. A confession is immediately suspect if it directly follows violence at the hands of arresting officers. It’s harder to pinpoint the legal status of a long, exhausting interrogation or the implicit threat of violence.

Many situations can lead to false confessions. These reasons include:

  • To escape threatening or inhumane circumstances
  • In response to promises of a positive outcome
  • Temporary or ongoing cognitive inability to understand the situation
  • To obscure wrongdoing in another matter
  • For fame and infamy (most often associated with high-profile cases)

Whatever the reason for the confession, a defense attorney will want to prove one thing: at least one aspect of the confession broke legal protocol.

The Price of a False Confession

At times, a client will tell his lawyer that his confession was coerced or incorrect. In other cases, it may be the lawyer who discovers that a statement was improperly obtained. 

It is not possible to count how many individuals may have been convicted of a crime they did not commit due to a false or wrongly obtained confession. However, exoneration data gives one window into these sobering situations. 

In a comprehensive summary that dates back to 1989, The National Registry of Exonerations lists over 300 cases of exoneration where false confession was identified as a factor. The same research shows how false confessions are associated with other legal disadvantages. The people whose lives have been harmed by a wrongful conviction are disproportionately young and the majority belong to racial minorities.

Overturning a Client’s Confession

A defense attorney will want to resolve his client’s case long before exoneration becomes the only option. When a case first begins or during an appeal, confessions can be challenged like other pieces of evidence. Unfortunately, the proper strategy for casting doubt on a confession’s legality may appear difficult to determine. 

Just a few of the questions a lawyer might need to answer for their case include:

  • Did my client have sufficient understanding of the confession they signed?
  • Did the length of their interrogation cross a legal line?
  • Was my client interrogated without a lawyer present, or was the statement of guilt made at a time where the right to legal assistance didn’t apply?
  • Confessions similar to my client’s are only overturned in some instanceshow do I make sure my client’s case turns out well?

To untangle confession laws as they apply to a particular case, it pays to consult with an expert. This third party can offer detailed knowledge both about the law as it is written and any precedents set by similar cases. Because confession law is so nuanced, these examples are often necessary to convince a judge of a confession’s invalidity.

Confession Law Guidance from a Nationally Regarded Expert

Even attorneys with years of experience in criminal defense may find themselves in an unfamiliar situation when they’re navigating the complexities and nuances of fighting a false confession. For a case where your defendant’s confession is key, consult with eminent confession law expert Andrew Jezic.

Mr. Jezic brings ample experience to the table as a co-author of Maryland Law of Confessions. His 1600-page treatise is considered a valuable and thorough examination of American confession laws and is relied upon for reference by both attorneys and courts. Across its 17 editions, Maryland Law of Confessions has been cited or quoted 11 times by Maryland’s highest and intermediate appellate courts.

If you or your client is struggling with a confession, Mr. Jezic offers individualized consultations anywhere in the United States. Work with him to identify the best possible options for your client. When confession law comes into play, Mr. Jezic can ensure that the case achieves a positive outcome.

 

Scroll to Top